Son-rises in Maharashtra politics

By. Akhilesh Dhar

After the expansion of newly Maharashtra Cabinet on Monday, the debate over dynasty politics in India has again taken a narrow shape. The sworn-in ministers, be it from smaller parties or from the grand old party like Congress, the grimy exhibition of nepotism was set forth at the swearing-in ceremony in Mumbai.
The interesting part of Maharashtra politics is something unique; one can create a book and can learn the different political lessons from it. From Shiv Sena and NCP coming together and forming the government in the state to the NCP Supremo Sharad Pawar, who initially set the tone for the Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aagadi.
Ajit Pawar’s motivated gamble and his short cameo as Fadnavis’s friend to the expansion of Maharashtra Cabinet which has several leaders from the influential families leading to the dynasty politics. The politics of Maharashtra has created an entire book of lessons for all.
The ministers who found a place in Cabinet due to previous political background comes amid the eternal debate over the dynastic politics in the country.
Here’s the list of those who found a place in Maharashtra Cabinet due to their family legacy.
Shiv Sena leader Aditya Thackeray, son of Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, sworn-in as a Cabinet Minister in the State.

NCP minister Dhananjay Munde, nephew of BJP veteran and former state and central Minister Gopinath Munde.
Deputy CM Ajit Pawar, nephew of NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

NCP minister Jayant Patil is the son of Congress minister late Rajaram Patil.
Shiv Sena Minister Shambhuraje Desai is the grandson of Balasaheb Desai, the former home minister from the Congress.
Congress minister Amit Deshmukh is the son of former Maharashtra Chief Minister Vilasrao Deshmukh.

Congress minister Yashomati Thakur, daughter of former Congress MLA Bhayyasaheb Thakur.

Congress minister Sunil Kedar, son of former Congress MLA and Minister Chhatrapal Kedar.

Congress minister Varsha Gaikwad is the daughter of former Congress MP Eknath Gaikwad.

Congress minister Vishwajeet Kadam is the son of former Congress minister Patangrao Kadam.

Congress minister Satej Patil is the son of Congress leader and former Bihar Governor DY Patil.

Congress minister Balasaheb Thorat is the son of former Congress MLA Bhausaheb Thorat.

NCP minister Rajesh Tope is the son of former MP Ankush Tope.

NCP minister Aditi Tatkare, daughter of MP Sunil Tatkare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *